Supporting Students with ADHD

This week in CEP 812 I was asked to choose a disorder to research. I chose to focus on ADHD. Many of the students I work with as a Title 1 teacher are diagnosed with ADHD so this topic is close to my heart. Sadly I’ll admit that I didn’t know too much before I started researching this disorder, I knew an overview of the disorder but not a lot of specifics.

I hear ADD and ADHD thrown around all the time at work and outside of it. “I’m so ADD, I couldn’t concentrate”, “They just can’t sit still, must be ADHD”, “Were you even paying attention; you’re so ADD sometimes”. These are real statements I heard this week about these two related disorders. It’s such a hot topic in education and media right now that everyone seems to be talking about.

It’s actually so “new” that I never realized until earlier this week that it was recognized as a disorder in children in 1937. 1937! This is not a new thing that is affecting children in the age of the internet and instant gratification. While it may be more common than at that time, it’s a disorder that’s been around for a while now.

ADHD Focus

As I was learning and reading many articles about ADHD, I was brainstorming tools that I could use in my online classroom to help support students that are diagnosed. Taking into account the strengths of students with ADHD (need for immediate feedback, drawn to the internet, and ability to see short term goals) to work on some weaknesses (organizational skills, time-management, inability to see long-term goals) I found a website that should help; RewardsChart.com. See below with a video on how this free online rewards calendar can help students with ADHD with the support of a parent or teacher, then check out my short paper that goes into more detail about the causes and educational strategies to help students with ADHD.

References

Amenclinicphotos ac. (2014, July 7). ADHD Letters [Picture]. Retrieved from https://www.flickr.com/photos/125892716@N05/14419482990

Barlow, D. (2005, September). How to Reach and Teach Children with ADD-ADHD: Practical Techniques, Stategies, and Interventions. The Education Digest, 71(1), 76-77.

Biederman, J. (2005, July). Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder. The Lancet, 366(9481), 237-248.

Bokor, G., & Anderson, P. D. (2014, August). Attention-Deficity/Hyperactivity Disorder. Journal of Pharmacy Practice, 336-349.

Kidron, Y., & Lindsay, J. (2014). The effects of increased learning time on student academic and nonacademic outcomes: Findings from a meta-analytic review. Institute of Education Sciences. Washington, DC: American Institutes for Research.

Kuntsi, J., McLoughlin, G., & Asherson, P. (2006). Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. Journal of NeuroMolecular Medicine, 8(4), 461-484.

Dombrowski, Quinn. (2012, January 27). Life as impediment to focus [Picture]. Retrieved from https://www.flickr.com/photos/quinnanya/6773719689

Rief, S. (2005, October). How to Reach and Teach Children with ADD/ADHD: Practical Techniques, Strategies, and Interventions. School Library Journal, 51, 88.

Russell, G., Ford, T., Rosenberg, R., & Kelly, S. (2014, May). The association of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder with socioeconomic disadvantage: alternative explorations and evidence. Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry, 55(5), 436-445.

One thought on “Supporting Students with ADHD

  1. Hi Stacey,

    I enjoyed reading your post, especially since I also did research on ADHD and similarly discovered that some of the greatest implications are disorganization and a need for short-term goals. It was really interesting to learn about RewardsChart.com. I really like how you considered how both parents and teachers can use it to support the student by having all of the tasks in one easily accessible place.

    I find that in my place of employment, it’s especially helpful to the teacher if they communicate with the parent and have common goals for the student. What a great way for everyone to participate in the student’s success! I feel like this tool in particular would be great for and appeal to elementary/middle school students. I wonder if there’s ways to adapt the tool to make it even more appealing to high school level students. Thanks for the great read/watch.

    -Alissa

Leave a Reply

