How My Virtual School Views Technology

This week I gave a survey to staff members at my school in order to better understand how our school is already using technology to help students and how open we are to learning more. I created a 13 question survey using Google Forms to help me get to these answers. You can view (and even take!) the survey here: Technology Survey. However this survey is specifically geared towards educators at my school, Michigan Connections Academy, so many of the questions and/or options might not make sense to you.

I sent the survey out Sunday night and was happily surprised by the results. About a third of the staff took the survey during the work week! You can see the breakdown in this info graphic created using Infogr.am. [I’m sorry to say that I didn’t realize WordPress doesn’t support iframes and I cannot have the pretty pictures right here for you and you must click to view them.]

As you can see I got a wide range of teachers from different grades, though more secondary than elementary. I would expect that since last year I taught 6-12 grade and they know me better, so responding to a survey from me might mean more to them.

I learned from my survey that educators at my school are using a WIDE RANDE of digital tools already, outside of the required ones. This infogr.am shows the breakdown per grade level as well. 

Of course I wanted to know more than just what technologies were being used, but I wanted to get a glimpse at why they were using those specific technologies. To learn more click on this link for an infogr.am that allows you to choose grade level groups or just look at the total of responding educators.

So now I know who responded, what they are using, how they chose why they are using it (or at least the beginning of knowing this information), so now I wanted to know how we can change and continue to learn and use new digital technologies. Staff members were really interested in learning more and getting trained, especially if it didn’t take up any more of the precious time during the day: see this infogr.am here for more!

Now that you got a summary of the data I collected, I encourage you to read my short (about 700 words) paper that goes over my analysis of the data. If you have any conclusions, comments, helpful ways MICA can improve please let me know in the comments!

References:

Create infographics & online charts | infogr.am. (n.d.). Retrieved September 28, 2014, from https://infogr.am/app/#/home

One account. All of Google. (n.d.). Retrieved September 28, 2014, from https://docs.google.com/forms/

Leave a Reply

